Rick Steves – Travel as a Political Act

I’m headed to Minneapolis tomorrow to hear European travel expert Rick Steves deliver a speech on “Travel as a Political Act”, sponsored by Twin Cities Public Television.

As the undisputed expert on travel to Europe, Rick spends 4 months every year traveling and working throughout Europe, recording episodes for TV series, and updating his travel guidebooks.

Spending one third of his adult life living out of a suitcase in Europe has shaped Rick’s thinking. Today he employs 80 people at his Europe Through the Back Door headquarters in Edmonds where he produces 30 guidebooks on European travel, the most popular travel series in America on public television, a weekly hour-long national public radio show, and a weekly column syndicated by the Chicago Tribune.

Rick’s website is a treasure trove of trip planning and advice. You can also download his free audio walking tours for many top sights from iTunes.

I’m so excited for the chance to see Rick again, and I’m bringing my two children with me to hear some of Rick’s wit, wisdom, and insight. I’ll provide updates after the speech!

Rick’s presentation is Sunday, Dec. 6 at 4:00pm at the Riverview Theater. Tickets are $30 at the door (if any tickets remain), and benefit Twin Cities Public Television.

~ Enchanted Traveler

4 thoughts on “Rick Steves – Travel as a Political Act

  1. Marie

    Wow! I had no idea that he had free audio waking tours too! I’m off to check that out. What a wonderful treasure trove of information you have here. Enchanted describes this blog perfectly! I’m going to subscribe to your posts:)

    Reply
    1. enchantedtraveler Post author

      HI Marie, thanks so much for your comment! Yes, Rick is the expert on travel to Europe, no doubt about it. And thank you for the nice compliment on my blog. I can’t wait to see Guedelon in person, I’ve heard so much about it. I feel a trip coming on. I need to write a story about the great work you’re doing.

      Take care, and thanks for stopping by and subscribing to my blog.
      Mary Ann

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Rick Steves – Travel as a Political Act – Review « Enchanted Traveler

  3. Pingback: Rick Steves – Travel as a Political Act – Review

Leave a Reply

